Site Logo
Site Logo
 
It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:12 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Posting variables
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 8:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 40
Can anyone help, I am trying to post variables and hove looked up various ways of doing it !!

I have included P1, P2 etc in the post , I have inputted values in the variable tab but nothing appears in the post !!

Am I missing something ????

GRRRRRR :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 3:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:24 am
Posts: 358
Location: CT
Here is one example:

{N<SEQ> }M09<EOB>
{N<SEQ> }M05<EOB>
{N<SEQ> }G00 G49 G53 Z0 <EOB>
{N<SEQ> }{<UDF-TEXT>} {(<UDF-COMMENT>)}<EOB>
(OP:<OP-PASS> {<OP-TYPE>} - <SEGM-ID>)<EOB>
(TOOL<TOOL> = <TOOL-DIAM> DIA <TOOL-NAME>)<EOB><EOB>
{N<SEQ> }T<TOOL> M6 <EOB>
{N<SEQ> }{G<FIXTURE>}<EOB>
{N<SEQ> }G00 G43 H<TOOL> D<OFFSET#><EOB>
{N<SEQ> }<MOTION> X<X-COORD> Y<Y-COORD> Z<Z-COORD><EOB>
<IF>[eq(<P3>,"")]<THEN>
{N<SEQ> }S<SPEED> <SPINDLE><EOB>
{N<SEQ> }<COOLANT> <EOB>
<ELSE>

{N<SEQ>} S<SPEED> M42 <EOB>
{N<SEQ>} <SPINDLE> <EOB>
{N<SEQ>} <COOLANT> <EOB>
<ENDIF>


This is in my toolchange format.
What I use it for is that if I want tho override the spindle gear to "high" regardless of programmed RPM, I just
enter SOMETHING into the P3 variable in the operation.
So, if P3 is empty, the spindle output will be:

S600 M03
M08

If there is anything in the P3 variable, then:

S600 M42
M03
M08


Here is another example, the Z-rapid :

<IF>[eq(<MOTION>,"G00")]<THEN>
{N<SEQ> }G01 Z<Z-COORD> F<P1><EOB>
F<FEED> <EOB>
<ELSE>
{N<SEQ> }<MOTION> Z<Z-COORD> <EOB>
<ENDIF>

I hate any rapid movements below the Z-rapid plane ( even pure Z moves ), so
this format will change all G00 Z(rapid) movements to a G01 Z(rapid) F(P1)

In the post, I have defaulted the P1 variable to 200, so under normal circumstances all Z-rapid moves will be
output as:

G01 Z(rapid) F200.

If I still don't think it's slow enough, ( for example there might be chips piled up around the tool ), I can change the P1 variable
within the operation to say 10, so the rapid movement will be:

G01 Z(rapid) F10.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 9:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 40
Hi,

Thanks for a very informative reply, the trouble I am having is using variables in one set up and then wanting to use them in a second setup and they are not there???

I am creating programs with multiple setups on a 5 axis machine and want to post some variables that don't show up !!

Any ideas?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 11:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:24 am
Posts: 358
Location: CT
If you want to use the same variable throughout the program, you can give them a default value under:
Machining Attributes -> Misc. -> Post Vars.

As a matter of fact, on the above example, my standard profile defaults the P1 and P2 variables to 100.

That means that under normal circumstances, my Z-rapid moves are always done @ F100.

If I don't like them, just change it on the OP level for that one OP only, the rest remains the 100. default.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 40
Thanks, that's a big help. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 40
Hi,

Thanks for the big help, I wonder if you can help me solve something else?
I am posting a 4 axis program for a Haas machine (using standard FC post), the program is a 4 axis 3D operation where the cutter just moves up and down in Z while the indexer rotates. This creates a kind of diamond pattern around a radiused turned part. Everything is fine but it outputs some strange feedrates, sometimes it is F23456.
This is to many digits for my "older" has machine to cope with and give me a "bad number" alarm.
Do you know a way of adding a line to the post to limit the federate to F9999?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:23 am
Posts: 270
Location: S.F. Bay Area
...not sure but can you try to modify the feed rates in the post under "CNC-Info"? Most likely it will be the "Degree/Minute Max."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 7:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:36 am
Posts: 40
Tried that and it makes no difference !!

Any way of adding something in the post like:

"If Feed is Greater than F9999, the feed = F9999"
?????

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:23 pm
Posts: 4
why not?

without testing i'd say something like this should work:

Code:
<IF>[gt(<FEED>,9999)]<THEN>
[:<FEED>=9999.]
<ENDIF>


or

Code:
<IF>[le(<FEED>,9999)]<THEN>
F<FEED>
<ELSE>
F9999.
<ENDIF>


Last edited by gwarble on Wed Jul 22, 2015 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Posting variables
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:23 pm
Posts: 4
also i'd look into why those numbers are coming out like that, is it expecting to be in "inverse time" feed, and maybe your machine doesn't support it (or the post is misconfigured)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB