Site Logo
Site Logo

It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:43 am

All times are UTC

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ] 
 Post subject: Engraving not possible?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:50 am 

I am new to FeatureCAM and would like to engrave. However, there is no way to do this so far as I see. I was taught in training to use the "groove" option, but that simply creates a bunch of random strange looking holes. I have spent hours on this, which is really quite funny considering I could just open up my previous (cheaper) software and do this in about 3 minutes. Why isn't this possible?

To clarify, I have read EVERY SINGLE thread on the forum related to engraving AND I have read every single instance of this subject in the "help" area of the software. I have also tried to create the text several other ways with no success including; boss, pocket and side. I've used every variation of closed and open curves I can come up with and yet it still does not produce the text.

In my other software, there is an "engrave" feature that simply allows the tool path to duplicate the lines and curves with multiple passes quickly and logically. And for closed text curves, there is an "offset" with "inside" and "outside" options that make this simple. Also, the previous software will quickly find a simple tool path to "pocket" closed text. FC failed at all of these.

Does anyone have any ideas that are not already listed on this forum? I have been milling intricate text and graphics for 8 years with simple software and am a bit shocked that FC leaves me hanging on something so incredibly simple.

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration showing me the ropes. I'm either missing something really obvious or will be using the old software.

Jason

Post subject: Re: Engraving not possible?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:42 am