Site Logo
Site Logo
 
It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:44 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 4th axis rotary machining: how to rough ?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 2:28 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Italy
Hi,
I've a "little" problem in 4th axis rotary machining of a 3d piece.
Well this is the question:
the surface milling strategies in 4th axis machining are only finish type.
This means that in case of a large stock removal there will be many unnecessary movements and "air cuts".
And this especially if the 3d model have some parts that are much decentralized respect to the axis of rotation.

Actually I use to repeat the process with multiple milling features (linear, circular or spiral type), leaving a decreasing allowance material for each step.
But this is a very inefficient system and does not allow me to easily check the depth of cut in the global operation, but I must edit, add or delete every single feature to control that.

Why the Z dept and/or parallel rough strategies are not available in 4h axis rotary machining ?

Thnx

_________________
Meccbell, the Chipmaker


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4th axis rotary machining: how to rough ?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:06 pm 
Offline
Delcam Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:22 am
Posts: 25
Location: India
Hi,

The plans are there to implement 4 & 5-axis rough.

But at present you can rough by positional and in the latest version you can set solid model as stock to avoid excess moves. In this way you avoid air cutting.

Thanks,

_________________
Xavier J Fernandes
Int. Support Member- FeatureCAM
DELCAM INDIA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4th axis rotary machining: how to rough ?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:36 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Fort Worth , TX
Now THAT would really be a welcome improvment!! Any idea when????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4th axis rotary machining: how to rough ?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:24 am
Posts: 14
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Xavier wrote:
Hi,

The plans are there to implement 4 & 5-axis rough.

But at present you can rough by positional and in the latest version you can set solid model as stock to avoid excess moves. In this way you avoid air cutting.

Thanks,


So it has been over 3yrs, how much longer will it take to implement 4 axis rough?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4th axis rotary machining: how to rough ?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:47 am
Posts: 35
spin-tek wrote:
Xavier wrote:
Hi,

The plans are there to implement 4 & 5-axis rough.

But at present you can rough by positional and in the latest version you can set solid model as stock to avoid excess moves. In this way you avoid air cutting.

Thanks,


So it has been over 3yrs, how much longer will it take to implement 4 axis rough?


they told me in December that some thing like only a dozen people have asked for it and it is logged in the system..... Hopefully this means that we will see it in 2013 :)

_________________
http://www.fodendesigns.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB