Site Logo
Site Logo
 
It is currently Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:43 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:03 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi,

I'm using the latest version of PowerSHAPE 2016 SP5 and the centre lines in drafting seems to have stopped working.

Is this a known bug in this release?

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:25 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Staff
DELCAM Staff

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 2:31 pm
Posts: 52
Hi Jim

I am not aware of a problem. I tested the creation of centrelines in normal and section views for solids.

Does the view contain surfaces, solids or components ?

Simon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
If you can make this go wrong reliably, Jim, please report via the support desk.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:49 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi,

Yes not working here. I tried opening a fresh model and creating a simple cylinder solid and cube solid then doing views of it and I'm not getting any centre lines at all. No error messages either.
I'll call support.

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 2:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
There is a switch in Tools > Options > Drafting > Centrelines > Create centrelines for views. How is yours set?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:22 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi,

It's not normally ticked. But I've tried ticking it and still don't get any centrelines.

The view options shows the box as ticked but it just doesn't create the centrelines.

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
How very strange. We just cannot reproduce it here, and when support open your model the centrelines are there. Do the lines show up if you try to print? If so it might be a graphics glitch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:46 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi Jon,

Just tried the print preview and they aren't showing up on there either.

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:51 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi,

Update

In my test model I just created a couple of holes, one blind and one through, in a solid block and the centrelines appear ok for those. Also if tick the option to include cylinder surfaces I get a centreline on the primitive solid cylinder.

The still don't for the solid block however.

Regards,

Jim


Attachments:
screenshot.png
screenshot.png [ 115.55 KiB | Viewed 77 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 4:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
We wonder if your New_Model files have become corrupted in some way. Try deleting New_Model_1_xx (whichever is the highest number - probably 25). Then try again. You will not see centrelines on blocks, but they should show up on holes and cylinders (if the option is turned on).

Has this ever worked for you? If so, what was the last version you *know* worked correctly? Has anything else changed in the mean time?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:34 am 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi Jon,

Ok I'll give that a go. I was sure that centrelines always used to work for solid block primitives before though at least in earlier versions of powershape?

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:47 am 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi,

I've tried deleting the master models but still get the same result. No centrelines unless I tick the circular surface option.

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:18 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:36 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Birmingham, UK
I've tried Blocks in PowerSHAPE 6 and I don't get centrelines in the old version.
If you select the Circular surface option and Create centrelines for views then you will get centrelines for circular primitives, do you?
I'll check with the Drafting guys to see what the Solid primitives option is actually coded to do (it seems to be misleading at the moment).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:39 am 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi,

I've just updated to SP6 and swapped out my shareddb for a fresh copy provided by Lee in support. Unfortunately I still get the same behaviour.

No centrelines being generated on primitive solid cones or cylinders unless I tick the circular surface option. I guess I must have imagined it working on solid blocks before, strange as I'm sure back in one of the earlier versions you could draw a primitive block and then in drafting it would create the centrelines automatically.

I'll use the circular surface tick box method as a work around for now.

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Centrelines in drafting not working
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:06 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
Blocks definitely don't show up with centre-lines. Pockets (and any feature that has an obvious origin) do, though. Might you be getting confused somewhere?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB