Site Logo
Site Logo
 
It is currently Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:44 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:54 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
Hi,

Just started using the new PS2014. Some great new features in there, thanks.

Still no sign of drive curve solids with an editable history though. How far up the list is this now?

I would find it really useful for adding weld beads and step fit edges and glue grooves around solid parts.

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
Hi Jim

Glad you like the new functionality.

We are hoping to get the Parasolid drive curve solids in time for R2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:16 am 
Offline
DELCAM User
DELCAM User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 12
JimWhitehead wrote:
Hi,

Just started using the new PS2014. Some great new features in there, thanks.

Still no sign of drive curve solids with an editable history though. How far up the list is this now?

I would find it really useful for adding weld beads and step fit edges and glue grooves around solid parts.

Jim


I have downloaded new PowerSHAPE 2014 ... doesn't work well ... Please make the service patch ASAP :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:30 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
Hi Mold_Maker.

Could you be a bit more specific about the issue you are having?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:24 am 
Offline
DELCAM User
DELCAM User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 12
Hello John,
I have using now PowerSHAPE 2013 - no problem there ...
About 2014 - some surfaces can't be selected, some surfaces from some levels, can't be closed together with level ... In my opinion have problems ...
Please check :)


JonH wrote:
Hi Mold_Maker.

Could you be a bit more specific about the issue you are having?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
Could you please send an example to your local Delcam partner so we can investigate?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:20 am 
Offline
DELCAM User
DELCAM User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 12
I have saved again this part into PowerSHAPE 2014 with another name and now all is fine ...
thank you :)

JonH wrote:
Could you please send an example to your local Delcam partner so we can investigate?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:04 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
OK, thanks for letting us know. It might help us track down the problem if you could lket us have a copy of the original model.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:11 am 
Offline
DELCAM User
DELCAM User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 12
yes, no problem give me e-mail :)

JonH wrote:
OK, thanks for letting us know. It might help us track down the problem if you could lket us have a copy of the original model.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:22 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
PowerSHAPE 2014 uses a new database version, so the first time you load a model, it will tell you it needs updating. It seems as if the update does not complete until the model is Saved. After that it behaves as it should. It may be a good idea to Save As..... just to be on the safe side.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:51 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:39 pm
Posts: 1100
Location: Erie, PA USA
I like the change to point limit function that provides the yes / no prompt for converting the surface. Saves a step of converting it myself. The functionality seems to work better as well.

Is there a reason you would NOT want to convert a surface if you needed to use point limit on it? Seems I always answer yes, why not just make it automatic?

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
It's something we have discussed often here at Delcam, Steve. The new behaviour is better than the old, and that's a step in the right direction. The reason we don't go the whole hog and silently convert the surface in the background is simply that some users are not allowed to change the original part geometry. They must make what they are given. There can be minute differences in geometry between a NURB surface and its PowerSurface equivalent. These differences are almost immeasurably small, but some people just get very twitchy about this sort of thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:29 am 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:39 pm
Posts: 1100
Location: Erie, PA USA
Thanks for the explanation, Jon. It could be made and option.....

Allow PowerSHAPE to automatically convert surfaces when needed, Y/N

It is better than it was by far, I spent several hours doing this yesterday, and I was pleasantly surprised.

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PowerSHAPE 2014
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:44 am
Posts: 2631
Location: Birmingham
Not sure yet another option is a good idea, Steve. the options dialog is already pretty huge.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Drive curve solids with editable history?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:18 pm 
Offline
DELCAM Guru
DELCAM Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:19 am
Posts: 445
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK
What's the latest on the development of creating drive curve solids with an editable history. How far up the wish list is this now?

Last time I asked about this feature was back in 2013?

Unrelated to that I'd also like a nicer way to control variable radius filleting on solids. It's better than it used to be but still needs a lot of improvement.

For example I spent 10 minutes carefully clicking around a long profile on a solid recently, setting up the size of a radii and transition type, only for PowerSHAPE to simply display and error when I clicked apply and I lost all the setup. It would be better if it could remember what's you'd set up even if the initial attempt at creation fails, and then provide a bit of feedback to explain which area it's having trouble with.

Regards,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB