Site Logo
Site Logo

It is currently Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:57 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: Toolmaker Newbie Questions
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:07 pm 
New User
New User

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to Toolmaker (been using Cimatron for the past few years) and have some probably silly questions which local support has been having trouble answering.

1) We're not using standard mold bases here, for the most part we use M.U.D. bases which aren't available in the standard library. I asked local about making a custom library for the 4 mold bases we do use and was told that there are a million little intricacies in associations which need to be met for it to work. Just changing the name of component doesn't update the associations and dependencies. For example if I want to place an ejector pin in my mold base it isn't aware of the purpose of my core plate and just blasts a clearance hole through it. Same with shcs, put one in my retainer plate and it gives me a clearance hole in my ejector plate, not a tapped hole.

2) I've been told by my co-workers that PowerSHAPE is 'history based' but all I'm seeing is a list of boolean functions in chronological order. If it is history based I should be able to look at the last several geometry creations I did and edit them as necessary.

3) Can I go back in my 'history tree' and let's say, add a rib and have the trodes I've already made automatically updated?

I've got several more smaller issues but these are the ones that are on my mind right now.

Paul

Post subject: Re: Toolmaker Newbie Questions
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:07 pm 
New User
New User

And while I'm asking silly questions, why is it that when I place a shcs in a plate it leaves the head above the surface I'm placing it on? Shouldn't it recess it the head thickness below the surface?

Paul

Post subject: Re: Toolmaker Newbie Questions